Long before the Harry Potter books captured people’s imagination, the Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis was a beloved and treasured series of many young children. I came late to the series myself, but was surprised recently when I came across a book by noted C.S. Lewis scholar, Michael Ward, in which he claimed to find the “key” to the seven book series. And that key was astrology.

In two books, “The Narnia Code” and “Planet Narnia, Ward makes his case that each of the seven books is linked to one of the traditional planets: Moon, Mercury, Venus, Sun, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn.

Keep in mind, that for most of human history – and certainly for most of astrology’s history – these seven planets formed the basis of chart interpretation. And Ward makes it clear that C.S. Lewis was very aware of this history: “The characters of the planets,” wrote Lewis, “as conceived by medieval astrology, seems to me to have a permanent value as spiritual symbols.”

According to Ward, the Narnia books breakdown as follows:

The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe – Jupiter

Prince Caspian – Mars

Voyage of the Dawn Treader – Sun

The Silver Chair – Moon

The Horse and His Boy – Mercury

The Magician’s Nephew – Venus

The Last Battle – Saturn

Of the two book’s Ward has written on this, “The Narnia Code” is easily the more accessible. It provides a fascinating overview of Lewis and Narnia, as well as plenty to think about in terms of the uses of astrology, in the past and the present. Highly recommended for Narnia fans!